Tobacco use in Virginia 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Virginia was 16.5%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2015, 8.2% of high school students (8.6% of male high school students and 7.9% of female high school students) in Virginia smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.8% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Virginia was 3.9% in 2014.
- In 2015, 5.5% of high school students in Virginia used chewing tobacco, snuff or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 7.3% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 7.4% of high school students in Virginia smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.3% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 16.8% of high school students in Virginia used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 24.1% of high school students used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Virginia allocated $8.2 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 9.0% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Virginia received an estimated $307.6 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Virginia, directly caused by smoking, amount to $3.11 billion annually.
- Virginia loses $3.06 billion in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $0.30 per pack of cigarettes in July 2005. Virginia is ranked 50th in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- Moist snuff is taxed $0.18 per ounce. Loose-leaf tobacco is taxed $0.21 for a single unit, $0.40 for a half-pound unit, and $0.70 for a pound unit or $0.21 for all other units, pouches or packages plus an additional $0.21 for each 4 ounce increment over one pound. All other tobacco products are taxed 10% of the manufacturers’ sales price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in public schools and childcare facilities (excludes home-based child care providers).
- Smoking restrictions are required in government workplaces, health facilities, restaurants, bars, retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
- There are no smoking restrictions in private workplaces or casinos.
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- The sale of bidis to minors is prohibited.
- The sale of alternative nicotine products, including electronic cigarettes, to minors is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 54.3% of adult every day smokers in Virginia tried to quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014. However, there is not yet evidence that the Virginia Medicaid program has complied with this requirement regarding NRT gum, NRT nasal spray, NRT lozenge, NRT inhaler, Varenicline (Chantix), and Bupropion (Zyban).
- Virginia’s state quitline invests $0.39 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Virginia has no private insurance mandate provision for cessation.