Tobacco use in Utah 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Utah was 9.1%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2013, 4.4% of high school students (5.3% of male high school students and 3.5% of female high school students) in Utah smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 15.7% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Utah was 3.0% in 2014.
- In 2015, 5.0% of adults in Utah used e-cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2013, 2.6% of high school students in Utah used chewing tobacco, snuff or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 8.8% of high school students used smokeess tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2013, 4.1% of high school students in Utah smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 12.6% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 6.0% of 8th grade, 12.4% of 10th grade, and 13.3% of 12th grade students in Utah used e-cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, in 2015, 24.1% of high school students used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Utah allocated $7.5 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 38.9% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Utah received an estimated $150.9 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Utah, directly caused by smoking, amount to $542 million annually.
- Utah loses $355.6 million in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $1.70 per pack of cigarettes in July 2010. Utah is ranked 23rd in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- Little cigars are taxed $0.085 per cigar. The tax on moist snuff is $1.83 per ounce. All other tobacco products are taxed 0.86 multiplied by the manufacturers selling price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in all childcare facilities, government workplaces, health care facilities, restaurants, schools, private workplaces, retail stores, recreational/cultural facilities, and bars.
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 19, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate the law.
- Only sales clerks are allowed access to tobacco products prior to sale.
- The sale to minors of electronic cigarettes is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 52.1% of adult every day smokers in Utah tried to quit smoking in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014. However, there is not yet evidence that the Utah Medicaid program has complied with this requirement regarding NRT gum, NRT patch, NRT nasal spray, NRT lozenge, and NRT inhaler.
- Utah’s state quitline invests $4.79 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Most private health plans in Utah have a mandate provision for cessation.