Tobacco use in Delaware 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Delaware was 17.4%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2015, 9.9% of high school students (10.3% of male high school students and 9.2% of female high school students) in Delaware smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.8% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Delaware was 1.6% in 2014.
- In 2015, 4.5% of high school students in Delaware used chewing tobacco, snuff, or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 7.3% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 10.9% of high school students in Delaware smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.3% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 23.5% of high school students in Delaware used electronic vapor products on at least once in the past 30 days. Nationally, 24.1% of high school students used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Delaware allocated $6.4 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 48.9% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Delaware received an estimated $136.8 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Delaware, directly caused by smoking, amount to $532 million annually.
- Delaware loses $391.2 million in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $2.10 per pack of cigarettes in July 2017. Delaware is ranked 14th in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- Moist snuff is taxed $0.54 per ounce. All other tobacco products are taxed 15% of the wholesale price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, private workplaces, schools, childcare facilities, restaurants, bars, casinos/gaming establishments, retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
YOUTH ACCESS LAW
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- Only sales clerks are allowed to access tobacco products prior to sale.
- The sale to minors of electronic cigarettes is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 51.2% of adult every day smokers in Delaware quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014.
- Delaware’s state quitline invests $9.29 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Delaware does not require private health insurance plans to cover cessation treatments.