Tobacco use in Connecticut 2019
Cigarette use: Connecticut*
Cigarette use in Connecticut
- In 2017, 12.7% of adults smoked. Nationally, the rate was 17.1%.1
- In 2017, 7.9% of high school students in Connecticut smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, the rate was 8.8%.2
Other tobacco product use: Connecticut
E-cigarette and Smokeless tobacco use in Connecticut
- In 2017, 3.2% of adults used e-cigarettes and 1.8% used smokeless tobacco.3
- In 2017, 14.7% of high school students in Connecticut used e-cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.4
- In 2017, 5.3% of high school students in Connecticut smoke cigars, cigarillos or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.4
Economics of tobacco use and tobacco control
Economics of tobacco use in Connecticut
- Connecticut received $500.8 million (estimated) in revenue from tobacco settlement payments and taxes in fiscal year 2019.5
- Of this, the state allocated $0 in state funds to tobacco prevention in fiscal year 2019, 0% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s annual spending target.5
- Smoking-related health care costs: $2.03 billion per year.5
- Smoking-related losses in productivity: $1.25 billion per year.6
Connecticut tobacco laws
Cigarette tax in Connecticut
- Connecticut is ranked 2nd in the U.S. for its cigarette tax of $4.35 per pack (enacted December 2017), compared with the national average of $1.81. (The District of Columbia has the highest tax at $4.50 and Missouri has the lowest at 17 cents.) 7,8
- All other tobacco products are taxed at 50% of the manufacturer’s list price.8,9
Clean indoor air ordinances
- Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, schools, restaurants, bars (tobacco bars are exempt), casinos/gaming establishments (tribal establishments are exempt), retail stores and recreational/cultural facilities.9
- Smoking restrictions are required in childcare facilities and private workplaces.9
- E-cigarettes are included in the state’s clean indoor air law.10
Youth access laws
- The minimum age to purchase tobacco products in Connecticut is 21. In December 2019, the United States adopted a law raising the federal minimum age of sale of all tobacco products to 21, effective immediately.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.8
Local tobacco laws
- Bridgeport, Hartford, Milford, Southington, South Windsor, Trumbull and Wallingford prohibit the sale of tobacco products to those under age 21.11
Quitting statistics and benefits
Quitting statistics in Connecticut
- The CDC estimates 57.8% of daily adult smokers in Connecticut quit smoking for one or more days in 2017.3
- In 2014, the Affordable Care Act required that Medicaid programs cover all quit medications.9**
- Connecticut’s state quit line invests 15 cents per smoker, compared with the national average of $2.21.9
- Connecticut does not have a private insurance mandate provision for quitting tobacco.9
Notes and references
*National and state-level prevalence numbers reflect the most recent data available. This may differ across state fact sheets.
**The seven recommended quitting medications are NRT gum, NRT patch, NRT nasal spray, NRT inhaler, NRT lozenge, Varenicline (Chantix) and Bupropion (Zyban).
Fiore MC, et al. Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence: 2008 Update. Clinical Practice Guideline. Rockville, MD: US Department of Health and Human Services. Public Health Service: May 2008.
1. CDC, Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, 2017.
2. CDC, Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System, 2017.
3. CDC, Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, State Tobacco Activities Tracking and Evaluation System, 2017.
4. Connecticut Youth Tobacco Survey, 2017.
5. Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, Broken Promises to Our Children: a State-by-State Look at the 1998 State Tobacco Settlement 20 Years Later FY2019, 2018.
6. Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, Toll of Tobacco in the United States.
7. Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. State Cigarette Excise Tax Rates & Rankings. https://www.tobaccofreekids.org/assets/factsheets/0097.pdf.
8. American Lung Association, State Legislated Actions on Tobacco Issues (SLATI).
9. American Lung Association, State of Tobacco Control, 2019.
10. Public Health Law Center. U.S. E-Cigarette Regulation: 50-State Review. http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org/resources/us-e-cigarette-regulations-50-state-review.
11. Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. States and Localities that have Raised the Minimum Legal Sales Age for Tobacco Products to 21. https://www.tobaccofreekids.org/assets/content/what_we_do/state_local_issues/sales_21/states_localities_MLSA_21.pdf.