Tobacco use in Connecticut
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Connecticut was 13.5%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2015, 10.3% of high school students (12.3% of male high school students and 8.2% of female high school students) in Connecticut smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.8% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Connecticut was 1.8% in 2014.
- In 2015, 2.8% of high school students in Connecticut used chewing tobacco, snuff, or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 7.3% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 4.5% of high school students in Connecticut smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.3% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 7.2% of high school students in Connecticut used e-cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 24.1% of high school students used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Connecticut allocated $0 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 0% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Connecticut received an estimated $519.7 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Connecticut, directly caused by smoking, amount to $2.03 billion annually.
- Connecticut loses $1.25 billion in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $3.90 per pack of cigarettes in July 2016. Connecticut is ranked 3rd in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- Snuff is taxed $1.00 per ounce. Cigars are taxed 50% of the wholesale price, not to exceed $0.50 per cigar. All other tobacco products are taxed 50% of the wholesale price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, schools, restaurants, bars (allowed in tobacco bars), casinos/gaming establishments (tribal establishments are exempt), retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
- Smoking restrictions are required in private workplaces and childcare facilities.
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- The sale to minors of electronic cigarettes is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 52.7% of adult every day smokers in Connecticut quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014.
- Connecticut’s state quitline invests $0 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Connecticut does not have a private insurance mandate provision for cessation.