Tobacco use in Colorado 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Colorado was 15.7%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2015, 8.6% of high school students (8.7% of male high school students and 8.3% of female high school students) in Colorado smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.8% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Colorado was 4.0% in 2014.
- In 2015, 4.9% of high school students in Colorado used chewing tobacco, snuff, or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 7.3% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 8.9% of high school students in Colorado smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.3% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 26.1% of high school students in Colorado used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 24.1% of high school students used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Colorado allocated $23.2 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 43.8% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Colorado received an estimated $296.3 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Colorado, directly caused by smoking, amount to $1.89 billion annually.
- Colorado loses $1.27 billion in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $0.84 per pack of cigarettes in January 2005. Colorado is ranked 38th in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- All other tobacco products are taxed 40% of the manufacturer’s list price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, private workplaces (non-public workplaces with three or fewer employees are exempt), schools, childcare facilities, restaurants, bars (allowed in cigar-tobacco bars), casinos/gaming establishments (tribal establishments are exempt), retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- The sale to minors of electronic cigarettes is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 52% of adult every day smokers in Colorado quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014.
- Colorado’s state quitline invests $4.86 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Colorado has a private insurance mandate provision for cessation.