Tobacco use in Wyoming 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Wyoming was 19.1%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2015, 15.7% of high school students (15.4% of male high school students and 15.9% of female high school students) in Wyoming smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.8% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Wyoming was 8.8% in 2014.
- In 2015, 11.6% of high school students in Wyoming used chewing tobacco, snuff or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 7.3% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 12.6% of high school students in Wyoming smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.3% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 29.6% of high school students in Wyoming used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 24.1% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Wyoming allocated $4.2 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 49.4% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Wyoming received an estimated $45.5 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Wyoming, directly caused by smoking, amount to $258 million annually.
- Wyoming loses $202.4 million in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $0.60 per pack of cigarettes in July 2003. Wyoming is ranked 43rd in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- Moist snuff is taxed $0.60 per ounce. Cigars, snuff, and other tobacco products are taxed 20% of the wholesale price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is restricted in all government workplaces. The state places no other restrictions on smoking.
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- The sale to minors of electronic cigarettes is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 47.9% of adult every day smokers in Wyoming tried to quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014. However, there is not yet evidence that the Wyoming Medicaid program has complied with this requirement regarding NRT nasal spray and NRT inhaler.
- Wyoming’s state quitline invests $16.42 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Wyoming has no private insurance mandate provision for cessation.