Tobacco use in Maine 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Maine was 19.5%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2015, 11.2% of high school students (11.7% of male high school students and 10.5% of female high school students) in Maine smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.8% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Maine was 2.1% in 2014.
- In 2015, 5.1% of high school students in Maine used chewing tobacco, snuff, or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 7.3% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 8.8% of high school students in Maine smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.3% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 16.8% of high school students in Maine used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 24.1% of high school students used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Maine allocated $7.8 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 49.1% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Maine received an estimated $196.7 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Maine, directly caused by smoking, amount to $811 million annually.
- Maine loses $647 million in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $2.00 per pack of cigarettes in September 2005. Maine is ranked 15th in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- Smokeless tobacco, including chewing tobacco and snuff, is taxed a minimum of $2.02 per ounce. Cigars, pipe tobacco, and other smoking tobacco are taxed 20% of the wholesale price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, private workplaces, schools, childcare facilities, restaurants, bars, retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
- Smoking is restricted in casinos/gaming establishments (tribal establishments are exempt).
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- The sale to minors of electronic smoking devices, including electronic cigarettes, is prohibited.
- The sale of cigars with characterizing flavors is banned. Characterizing flavor is defined as having a distinguishable taste or aroma of candy, chocolate, vanilla, fruit, berry, nut, herb, spice, honey, or an alcoholic drink. Menthol is exempted. Premium cigars, defined as cigars weighing over 3 pounds per thousand cigars and wrapped in whole tobacco leaf, are exempt.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 51.6% of adult every day smokers in Maine quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014.
- Maine’s state quitline invests $10.25 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Maine does not have a private insurance mandate provision for cessation.