Tobacco use in Louisiana 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Louisiana was 21.9%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2013, 12.1% of high school students (14.4% of male high school students and 9.7% of female high school students) in Louisiana smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 15.7% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Louisiana was 5.3% in 2014.
- In 2013, 12.7% of high school students in Louisiana used chewing tobacco, snuff, or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 8.8% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2013, 14.4% of high school students in Louisiana smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 12.6% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Louisiana allocated $7 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 11.7% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Louisiana received an estimated $451.7 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Louisiana, directly caused by smoking, amount to $1.89 billion annually.
- Louisiana loses $2.49 billion in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $1.08 per pack of cigarettes in April 2016. Louisiana is ranked 35th in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- Smokeless tobacco is taxed 20% of the invoice price and smoking tobacco is taxed 33% of the invoice price. Cigars are taxed between 8% and 20% depending on the manufacturer’s invoice price. Electronic cigarettes and vapor products are taxed 5 cents per milliliter of consumable nicotine liquid solution.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, private workplaces, schools, childcare facilities, restaurants, retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
- Smoking restrictions are required in casinos/gaming establishments (tribal establishments are exempt).
- There are no smoking restrictions in bars.
- There are municipalities in Louisiana with local 100% smokefree laws, including bars. A full list of these municipalities can be found at no-smoke.org.
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- The sale to minors of alternative nicotine products, electronic cigarettes, and vaporizers is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 53.7% of adult every day smokers in Louisiana quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014. However, there is not yet evidence that the Hawaii Medicaid program has complied with this requirement regarding NRT gum, NRT patch, NRT nasal spray, NRT lozenge, NRT inhaler, and Varenicline (Chantix).
- Louisiana’s state quitline invests $0.77 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Louisiana does not have a private insurance mandate provision for cessation.