Tobacco use in Kansas 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Kansas was 17.7%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2013, 10.2% of high school students (11.8% of male high school students and 8.7% of female high school students) in Kansas smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 15.7% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Kansas was 5.7% in 2014.
- In 2013, 8.1% of high school students in Kansas used chewing tobacco, snuff, or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 8.8% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2013, 10.3% of high school students in Kansas smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 12.6% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2014, 0.9% of middle school students in Kansas used e-cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- During the 2011/2012 school year 1.8% of high school students in Kansas used e-cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Kansas allocated $847,041 in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 3.0% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Kansas received an estimated $208.7 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Kansas, directly caused by smoking, amount to $1.12 billion annually.
- Kansas loses $1.09 billion in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $1.29 per pack of cigarettes in July 2015. Kansas is ranked 32nd in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- All other tobacco products are taxed 10% of the wholesale price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, private workplaces, schools, childcare facilities, restaurants, bars, retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
- Smoking restrictions are required in casinos/gaming establishments (gaming floors and tribal establishments are exempt).
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- The sale to minors of electronic cigarettes is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 47% of adult every day smokers in Kansas quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all recommended tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014.
- Kansas’ state quitline invests $0.44 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Kansas does not have a private insurance mandate provision for cessation.