the news

Tobacco use in Florida 2017

CIGARETTE USE

  • In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Florida was 15.8%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
  • In 2015, 9.9% of high school students (11.5% of male high school students and 7.8% of female high school students) in Florida smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.8% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.

Graph showing smoking rates in Florida compared to the national average

OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE

  • The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Florida was 2.7% in 2014.
  • In 2015, 4.9% of high school students in Florida used chewing tobacco, snuff, or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 7.3% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
  • In 2015, 8.5% of high school students in Florida smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.3% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
  • In 2015, 15.8% of high school students in Florida used an electronic cigarette on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 24.1% of high school students used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days.

Graph showing other tobacco product use among High School students in Florida

ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL

  • In FY2016, Florida allocated $67.8 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 34.9% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
  • Florida received an estimated $1.579.5 billion in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
  • The health care costs in Florida, directly caused by smoking, amount to $8.64 billion annually.
  • Florida loses $8.32 billion in productivity each year due to smoking.

STATE TOBACCO LAWS

EXCISE TAXFlorida cigarette tax

  • The state tax increased to $1.339 per pack of cigarettes in July 2009. Florida is ranked 30th in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
  • The tax on all other tobacco products, except cigars, is 85% of the wholesale price.

CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES

  • Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, private workplaces, schools, childcare facilities, restaurants, casinos/gaming establishments (tribal establishments are exempt), retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
  • Smoking restrictions are required in bars. Stand-alone bars that make no more than 10% of their gross revenue from the sales of food are exempt.

YOUTH ACCESS LAWS

  • The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
  • Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
  • Products must be under supervision of sales clerk(s) or in sight of the sales clerk.
  • The sale to minors of nicotine dispensing devices, including electronic cigarettes, is prohibited.

LOCAL TOBACCO LAWS

  • The city of St. Petersburg has prohibited the use of smokeless tobacco products at the city’s sports venues, including Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays.

CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS

  • The CDC estimates that 58.9% of adult every day smokers in Florida quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
  • The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014. However, there is not yet evidence that the Florida Medicaid program has complied with this requirement regarding NRT gum, NRT patch, NRT nasal spray, NRT lozenge, and NRT inhaler.
  • Florida’s state quitline invests $5.04 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
  • Florida does not have private insurance mandate provision for cessation.

DOWNLOAD THE FLORIDA FACT SHEET

*last updated: May 1, 2017