Tobacco use in Arkansas 2017
- In 2015, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults in Arkansas was 24.9%. Nationally, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults was 17.5%.
- In 2015, 15.7% of high school students (18.2% of male high school students and 13.4% of female high school students) in Arkansas smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.8% of high school students smoked cigarettes on at least one day in the past 30 days.
OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCT USE
- The prevalence of smokeless tobacco use among adults in Arkansas was 6.5% in 2014.
- In 2015, 10.6% of high school students in Arkansas used chewing tobacco, snuff, or dip on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 7.3% of high school students used smokeless tobacco on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 14.2% of high school students in Arkansas smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 10.3% of high school students smoked cigars, cigarillos, or little cigars on at least one day in the past 30 days.
- In 2015, 26.4% of high school students in Arkansas used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days. Nationally, 24.1% of high school students used electronic vapor products on at least one day in the past 30 days.
ECONOMICS OF TOBACCO USE AND TOBACCO CONTROL
- In FY2017, Arkansas allocated $9.0 million in state funds to tobacco prevention, which is 24.5% of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Annual Spending Target.
- Arkansas received an estimated $285.2 million in tobacco settlement payments and taxes in FY2017.
- The health care costs in Arkansas, directly caused by smoking, amount to $1.21 billion annually.
- Arkansas loses $1.7 billion in productivity each year due to smoking.
STATE TOBACCO LAWS
- The state tax increased to $1.15 per pack of cigarettes in March 2009. Arkansas is ranked 34th in the United States for its cigarette tax. The national average cigarette tax is $1.71 per pack of cigarettes. The highest state cigarette tax is New York ($4.35) and the lowest state cigarette tax is Missouri ($0.17).
- All other tobacco products are taxed 68% of the manufacturer’s list price.
CLEAN INDOOR AIR ORDINANCES
- Smoking is prohibited in all government workplaces, private workplaces (non-public workplaces with three or fewer employees are exempt), schools, childcare facilities, retail stores, and recreational/cultural facilities.
- Smoking restrictions are required in restaurants, bars, and casinos/gaming establishments.
YOUTH ACCESS LAWS
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products is 18, and penalties exist for both minors and merchants who violate this law.
- Establishments are required to post signs stating that sales to minors are prohibited.
- Only sales clerks are allowed to access tobacco products prior to sale.
- The sale to minors of electronic cigarettes or other nicotine products is prohibited.
CESSATION STATISTICS AND BENEFITS
- The CDC estimates that 57.2% of adult every day smokers in Arkansas quit smoking for one or more days in 2015.
- The Affordable Care Act requires all Medicaid programs cover all tobacco cessation medications beginning January 1, 2014. However, there is not yet evidence that the Arkansas Medicaid program has complied with this requirement regarding NRT nasal spray, NRT lozenge, and NRT inhaler.
- Arkansas’ state quitline invests $2.93 per smoker; the national average investment per smoker is $3.46.
- Arkansas does not have a private insurance mandate provision for cessation.